Board of Directors

Bank of Ireland (UK) has independent governance arrangements which take account of industry best practice. The Board of Directors comprises a mix of executive directors; independent non-executive directors; and non-executive directors from BOI Group.

  • Chairman - Robert Sharpe

    Robert Sharpe

    Chairman and Non-Executive Director

    Appointed Chairman on 27 April 2016, bringing over 35 years of Senior Executive and Board experience to the role, primarily in Retail Banking. He is currently Chairman at Al Rayan Bank plc, Honeycomb Investment Trust plc and Hampshire Trust Bank.

    Robert worked extensively in the Middle East, where he held several Non-Executive Directorships at banks in the UAE, Oman and Turkey. Prior to this, he led the transformation and turnaround at West Bromwich Building Society as Chief Executive Officer, having formerly been Chief Executive at the Portman Building Society and Chief Executive of Bank of Ireland’s business in the UK.

    His previous Non-Executive Director roles include Barclays Bank Pension Board, Chairman of Vaultex (UK) Ltd, George Wimpey plc, LSL Properties plc and the RIAS Group Ltd.

    Term of Office: Appointed to the Board in April 2016

    Independent: Yes

    External Appointments

    • Chairman and Non-executive Director of Al Rayan Bank
    • Chairman and Non-executive Director of Honeycomb Investment Trust Ltd
    • Chairman and Non-executive Director of Hampshire Trust Bank

  • Executive Directors

    Desmond Crowley

    Chief Executive Officer, Retail UK Division

    Appointed Director of BOI (UK) plc in September 2009. Appointed Chief Executive Officer of BOI (UK) plc in March 2012. Joined BOI Group in 1988. In March 2000 became a member of the Bank of Ireland Group Executive Committee, on being appointed Chief Executive of Retail Banking Ireland. Appointed Chief Executive of UK Financial Services, Director of Bristol & West plc and Bank of Ireland UK Holdings plc in January 2006.

    Appointed Director of the Parent in October 2006, until his retirement from this position in June 2011. Appointed as Chief Executive Officer – Retail (Ireland & UK) in May 2009 and Chief Executive- Retail UK Division in March 2012.

    Previously Chairman of Post Office Financial Services. A Director of First Rate Exchange Services, the foreign exchange joint venture with UK Post Office. He is also Director of New Ireland Assurance Company plc.

    Qualifications: BA (Mod) Econ, FCMA

    Term of Office: Appointed in September 2009

    Independent: No

    External Appointments: None

    Neil Fuller

    Chief Risk Officer

    Appointed Director of Bank of Ireland (UK) plc and Chief Risk Officer in October 2015. Neil joined Bank of Ireland from GE Capital UK, where he held the role of Chief Risk Officer since 2011.

    He has over 30 years of financial services experience, having previously worked for Royal Bank of Scotland & NatWest, where he held the role of Chief Risk Officer, UK Retail Division, and having previously held a number of senior management roles in UK Retail Banking across Credit Risk, Enterprise & Operational Risk and Operations.

    Term of Office: Appointed in October 2015

    Independent: No

    External Appointments: None

    Thomas McAreavey

    Chief Financial Officer

    Appointed Director of Bank of Ireland (UK) plc & Chief Financial Officer in March 2017. He has over 15 years’ experience in the Bank of Ireland Group, having held various senior management positions within Finance, including leading a range of strategic projects for BOI. Prior to that he held a management position within Pricewaterhouse Coopers. He is a Fellow Chartered Accountant. Thomas is also a Director of a number of BOI Group subsidiaries.

    Term of Office: Appointed in March 2017

    Independent: No

    External Appointments: None

  • Non-Executive Directors

    Donal Collins

    Head of Group Strategy & Development

    Appointed Director of Bank of Ireland (UK) plc in July 2015. Donal joined Bank of Ireland Group in 1999 and became a member of the Group Executive Committee in 2014. He has held a number of senior management positions including Director, Corporate Banking; Head of Group Projects and Head of Group Strategy Development.

    Prior to joining Bank of Ireland, Donal worked for KBC Bank in a range of international senior management roles in aerospace, infrastructure and asset financing and KPMG Ireland as Director, Taxation. Donal is a graduate of University College Dublin. He is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants of Ireland and an Associate of the Irish Institute of Taxation.

    Qualifications: BComm MBA

    Term of Office: Appointed in July 2015

    Independent: No

    External Appointment: None

    Susan Harris

    Non-Executive Director

    Appointed Director of BOI (UK) plc in July 2015, and member of the Audit and Risk Committees. Sue was previously a non-executive director of St James’s Place, Chair of the Finance and Audit Committees at Mencap, and Chair of Trustees of KCP Youth. She has held a number of senior executive positions in the financial services and retail sectors, including Group Audit Director, Lloyds Banking Group (LBG), Financial Control Director, LBG, Finance Director of LBG’s Retail Bank; and Finance Director of Cheltenham & Gloucester.

    Sue has held a number of other senior finance executive positions including Managing Director Finance at Standard Life, and Head of Corporate Development and Group Treasurer of Marks & Spencer. Sue is Chair of the Audit and Assurance Council of the Financial Reporting Council and a member of the Codes and Standards Committee.

    Qualifications: ACMA, BSc Hons Chemistry

    Term of Office: Appointed in July 2015

    Independent: Yes

    External Appointments:

    • Non-executive Director and chair of the Audit and Risk Committee of Abcam
    • Non-executive Director at Schroder & Co
    • Non-executive Director at Barclays Pension Fund Trustees Limited

    John Maltby

    Non-Executive Director

    Appointed to the Board of Bank of Ireland (UK) plc in November 2015, and appointed Chair of the Risk Committee in August 2017. John is also interim Chair of the Audit Committee and a member of the Nomination and Remuneration Committees. John is currently Chairman of Good Energy Group plc, and a member of its Audit and Remuneration Committees. Previous Board appointments include CEO and member of Transitional Board of Williams & Glynn, Chairman of Board of Lloyds Commercial Finance, Member of the Board Cheltenham & Gloucester plc, Chairman of the Board of Start Mortgages Ireland, and Member of the Board of Lombard Bank.

    He has also previously been Group Chief Executive of Kensington Group PLC, a specialist mortgage business and Group Director, Commercial Banking for Lloyds Banking Group. John has also held senior executive roles throughout the financial services industry, including NatWest Group PLC, Barclays Bank PLC and Abbey National PLC.

    Qualifications: BSc Hons Engineering Science

    Term of Office: Appointed in November 2015

    Independent: Yes

    External Appointments:

    • Chairman and Non-executive Director of Good Energy Group plc
    • Non-executive Director at NCS Trust CIC

    Mimi Kung

    Non-Executive Director

    Appointed as Director of Bank of Ireland UK Plc in November 2017. Member of the Risk Committee. Mimi attended the Boston University School of Management (1998) and Oxford University (2003). Mimi has held various senior positions at American Express since 1995 including that of Chief Financial Officer of American Express Europe and, most recently, that of Senior Vice-President, Head of the “Card Services Central Europe & International Currency Cards” function, and country manager for Italy.

    Term of Office: September 2017

    Independent: Yes

    External Appointments: Non-executive Director at Poste Italiane